Ode to Fall

The moon illuminates the emptiness
with grief upon its face
The stars like diamonds lead me
to an unfamiliar place
As I graze by quaking aspens
while I tremble on my own
And the circles make me weary
while the owls on its throne
And the breeze continues blowing
like a forceful baritone
I realize this is just a test
the sumptuous sky my chaperone
Before long the dawn approaches
by my side I find a stream
Was this just a phantom vision
or for once an honest dream?
Am I walking through this forest
or in my sleep am I serene?
Bowing down
face towards the water
I see my reflection gleam
I took the road less travelled
lost in a foreign wood
Relying on mere shadows
I wish I understood 

Leave a Reply

