Cabinet of Curiosities

I chose a night to start things over
and in a sea of jaded faces
I erased my own chronology
Becoming indecipherable I wove a world of mad indulgence
Lost in my paradise of animalistic fervor
You conjured a festival for me
with ruby elixir flowing over
from the rhythmic explorations
Staining satin like the prints left on the moon
You warmed my inhibitions and tempted all the sprites
Among the Elements we forged our chrysalis
As jays with sapphire wings circled around our heads
Breaking free, we dipped our toes into liquid majesty
The rippling reaction outrunning our breaths
as the silhouettes grasped the supple branches
Flirting in the vines with pomegranate lips
We panted prayers not to repeat
But crimson rose with velvet petals
Could not hide us from the beasts
In my Garden of Earthly Delights
The sun did set and the birds turned black
The city walls drew shadows over golden eyes
Our chalices of self-indulgence marked by fingerprints
Catalogued our sins
Calling forth the demons who were here before us
They were promised passion and delicacy
The heart surmounts the mind
And just the same, you made a puppet out of me

Leave a Reply

